2014 Kurt Schork Memorial Awards in International Journalism


The winner of the 2014 Kurt Schork Freelance Award in International Journalism was Matthieu Aikins, for outstanding investigations into the conduct of the United States military in Afghanistan published in Rolling Stone, Mother Jones and GQ.

The awards, the 13th, were presented at Thomson Reuters London headquarters on 30 October.

The awards recognize the work of reporters who seek to illuminate the human condition through courageous reporting of conflict, corruption, human rights abuses and other key issues.

Every year, a winner is chosen in two categories: the first is for freelance journalists who travel to the world’s news hotspots, often at great personal risk and little protection, to witness and report the impact and consequences of events. The second recognises the often unacknowledged work of local reporters in developing nations or countries in transition who write about events in their homeland.

Almost 300 stories were entered by 93 journalists from 41 countries for consideration by the jury – Lindsey Hilsum (Channel 4 International Editor), Paola Totaro (Foreign Press Association President, London), Lyse Doucet (BBC Chief International Correspondent), and Sean Maguire (Head of News and Campaigns at DEFRA).

The other 2014 shortlisted entrants (in no particular order) were:

Freelance category David Francis (USA), James Harkin (Republic of Ireland/UK), Tristan McConnell (UK), Alexis Okeowo (USA), Elena Stancu (Romania), Graeme Wood (Canada/USA) and Meng Yang (China)

Local Reporter category Itunu Ajayi (Nigeria), Reji Joseph (India), Alizeh Kohari (Pakistan), Olatunji Ololade (Nigeria), Shaila Rosagel (Mexico) and ‘Fisayo Soyombo (Nigeria)



2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015



If you have any questions about the awards please contact:


Copyright © Kurt Schork Memorial Fund. Website by DogFish Design