The Kurt Schork Memorial Fund (KSMF) is now accepting submissions for its 2022 Awards in International Journalism.

Now in their 21st year, the Awards honour American freelance journalist Kurt Schork – who was killed in 2000 while on assignment for Reuters in Sierra Leone – and recognise excellence in courageous reporting of conflict, corruption, injustice and human rights transgressions.

The News Fixer Award recognises local journalists and/ or experts, hired by a visiting foreign reporter or news organisation, whose guidance and local knowledge materially benefitted the content, impact and reach of the stories submitted.

The prize was inspired by the freelance journalist, author and friend of Kurt Schork, Anna Husarska, and pays tribute to the vital role that news fixers play in coverage from difficult, dangerous and hostile locations. Anna – who herself often works as fixer – gave this prize the name “News Fixer” because the word “fixer” (which has other, non-journalistic uses) is widely employed by reporters around the world, by international journalists’ organisations such as Committee to Protect Journalists, Reporters without Borders, National Press Club (US) and the Frontline Club (UK), in articles, films, scientific and fiction books.

The News Fixer Award winner will receive a cash prize of $5,000. The deadline for entries is midnight (GMT) on Tuesday, May 31 2022. Judges will look for journalistic excellence in applicants’ submissions and evidence of determination and courage in obtaining their stories.

2022 submission criteria

  • The News Fixer Award requires journalists to submit a nomination on behalf of a fixer who has assisted them with a story. A nomination will only be eligible if three stories are entered, but they can either be submitted by one journalist, or by up to three separate reporters.
  • The awards panel will take into account nominations for fixers who have received more than one recommendation from journalists they have worked with.
  • The submitted articles must have been published between June 1, 2021 and May 31, 2022.
  • Accepted media: any print-based medium, such as newspapers and magazines, or established online publications. Blogs, personal websites and social media pages or channels are not accepted.
  • Articles can encompass war reporting, human rights issues, cross-border troubles, corruption or other controversial matters impacting on people’s lives. Judges will be looking for professionalism, high journalistic standards, and evidence of dedication and courage in obtaining the story.
  • Because of problems with scanned entries and failed links in previous years, we require that each article be provided as a text file – MS Word (.doc or .docx) or similar text format (.rtf), or a PDF of a text file.
  • You may supply a URL link to your article(s), or a scan (as a PDF or JPG file) as supporting evidence of the publication context, but your entry will be disqualified if you do not also submit the required text files.

Additional material you must provide:

  • A statement of nomination.
  • A high standard English translation if the original articles are not in English.
  • A statement that the nominee is aware that he/ or she is being nominated and has given permission for the nomination.
  • An acceptance from the nominator and nominee that they accept the terms of the competition.

Kindly note the maximum file size for text submissions or scans is 5Mb. Entrants must complete the online entry form (or a PDF for printing and posting if not possible).

FAQs and enquiries:

Please see here for our FAQs. If you have any further questions about the Awards process, please email



If you have any questions about the awards please contact:

Copyright © Kurt Schork Memorial Fund. Website by DogFish