SUBMISSIONS FOR THE Kurt Schork Awards in international Journalism

The Kurt Schork Memorial Fund (KSMF) is now accepting submissions for its 2022 Awards in International Journalism.

Now in their 21st year, the Awards honour American freelance journalist Kurt Schork – who was killed in 2000 while on assignment for Reuters in Sierra Leone – and recognise excellence in courageous reporting of conflict, corruption, human rights transgressions and other related issues.

The three Award categories recognise the journalists most admired by Kurt: freelancers, local reporters and news fixers. Their work is often poorly paid, mostly unsung and frequently fraught with danger. Find out more about each category:

  • Freelance Award: recognising journalists who travel to the world’s conflict zones, usually at great personal risk, to witness and report on the impact and consequences of these events.
  • Local Reporter Award: recognising the often-overlooked work of journalists in developing nations (or countries in transition) who write about events in their homeland.
  • News Fixer Award: recognising local journalists and/or experts, hired by a visiting foreign reporter or news organisation, whose guidance and local knowledge materially benefited the content, impact and reach of the stories submitted.

The three winners – each of whom will receive a cash prize of $5,000 – will be announced towards the end of this year, alongside an associated event.

The deadline for entries is midnight (GMT) on Tuesday, May 31 2022. Judges will look for journalistic excellence in applicants’ submissions and evidence of determination and courage in obtaining their stories.

If you would like to apply, or make a nomination for the News Fixer Award, please fill in the form at the bottom of this page which provides definitions for each of the Award categories and will guide you through the application process. Some of the main detail is also included below:

2022 Submission criteria

  • Entrants for the Freelance Award and Local Reporter Award must submit three articles each.
  • The News Fixer Award requires journalists to submit a nomination on behalf of a fixer who has assisted them with a story. A nomination will only be eligible if three stories are entered, but they can either be submitted by one journalist, or by up to three separate reporters.
  • The submitted articles must have been published between June 1, 2021 and May 31, 2022.
  • Accepted media: any print-based medium, such as newspapers and magazines, or established online publications. Blogs, personal websites and social media pages or channels are not accepted.
  • Articles can encompass war reporting, human rights issues, cross-border troubles, corruption or other controversial matters impacting on people’s lives. Judges will be looking for professionalism, high journalistic standards, and evidence of dedication and courage in obtaining the story.
  • Because of problems with scanned entries and failed links in previous years, we require that each article be provided as a text file – MS Word (.doc or .docx) or similar text format (.rtf), or a PDF of a text file.
  • You may supply a URL link to your article(s), or a scan (as a PDF or JPG file) as supporting evidence of the publication context, but your entry will be disqualified if you do not also submit the required text files.
  • The awards panel will take into account nominations for fixers who have received more than one recommendation from journalists they have worked with.


Additional material you must provide:

  • a CV or resumé about your education and journalism career or about that of the fixer you are nominating.
  • a passport-quality photo (JPEG, GIF or PNG file, size no larger than 250Kb) of yourself or that of the fixer you are nominating.
  • a high standard English translation if the original articles are not in English.
  • a short statement explaining what you had to do to get the story.


In the case of the News Fixer Award, we require from the nominating journalist:

  • A statement of nomination.
  • A copy of the story or stories generated because of the nominated fixer’s involvement.
  • A statement that the nominee is aware that he/ or she is being nominated and has given permission for the nomination (or perhaps the nomination for anonymous if win). The awards panel will take into account nominations for fixers who have received more than one recommendation from journalists they have worked with.
  • An acceptance from the nominator and nominee that they accept the terms of the competition.
  • Two references.

The maximum file size for text submissions or scans is 5Mb.

Entrants must complete the online entry form (or a PDF for printing and posting if not possible).



If you have any questions about the awards please contact:

Copyright © Kurt Schork Memorial Fund. Website by DogFish